Playing long balls into empty space since 2012.

Thursday, 1 August 2019


Perhaps in response to our comments about Newcastle historic clubs last week, Travis Faulks from Balgownie sent me a list of the pre 1900 club names from the Illawarra (not complete) to list out on your show. 
  1. North Illawarra Rovers, 
  2. Balgownie Rangers, 
  3. Helensburgh Boomerangs, 
  4. Helensburgh Rovers, 
  5. Corrimal Rangers, 
  6. Corrimal True Blues, 
  7. Woonona Swifts, 
  8. Thirroul Rovers (or called Robbinsville Rovers), 
  9. Centennial Club, 
  10. Corrimal Bentin Club, 
  11. Kembla Mountaineers, 
  12. Woonona Surfs FC, 
  13. South Clifton FC, 
  14. Clifton FC, 
  15. Woonona Wanderers, 
  16. Renton FC (Corrimal), 
  17. Albion Park FC, 
  18. Dapto FC, 
  19. Wollongong Centennials, 
  20. Bellambi FC, 
  21. Bulli Park Rovers, 
  22. Bulli Pass Rovers, 
  23. Mount Kembla FC, 
  24. Kembla FC

Other names post 1900 that are unusual 
  • Woonona House of Lords, 
  • Kembla Pirates, 
  • Woonona Commonwealth Rangers (junior competition). 
  • Woonona Sweethearts.

Pre 1900 clubs still around: 
  • Albion Park White Eagles, 
  • Balgownie Rangers, 
  • Corrimal Rangers, 
  • Bellambi Rosellas, 
  • Woonona Sharks 130 this year, 
  • Thirroul Thunder
  • Helensburgh Thistle
  • Bulli

Albion Park, Bellambi and Thirroul had prolonged periods with no soccer clubs. The other clubs have had clubs going since this period in different incarnations.

No comments:

Post a comment