Playing long balls into empty space since 2012.

Tuesday, 23 July 2013

Restart of soccer in mellbourne 1909

Here's a photograph of the framed collage of teams and dignitaries in 1909, the first season after soccer's 12-year break in Melbourne.

The teams are, in no particular order:
  1. Melbourne United
  2. Carlton United
  3. Williamstown
  4. Fitzroy Districts
  5. Prahran
  6. St Kilda

The collage also depicts the Dockerty Cup, the man himself, and the committee in the middle.

Click on the image to enlarge.

No comments:

Post a Comment